Colour spaces

By Martin McBride, 2021-04-25
Tags: colour cmyk hsl greyscale luminance chrominance
Categories: computer science colour

As we saw in the previous section, colour is essentially a 3 dimensional quantity. It can be represented by 3 values, red, green and blue. Each unique combination of red, green and blue creates a unique colour.

You could think of these values as axes in a 3 dimensional space, where each point in space is a particular colour. We call this space the RGB colour space.

There are other ways to represent colours. They typically use 3 values, but rather than red, green and blue they use a different set of values (we call this a different colour space). Here are the main ones

  • RGB as described above
  • Greyscale images only contain shades of grey, with no colour (like black and white photographs).
  • CMYK colour spaces are used in printing, where cyan, magenta, yellow, and black inks are used to create colours.
  • HSL (hue, saturation, lightness) colour spaces represents a colour as a hue (that represents the basic, underlying colour), saturation (that represents how pure the colour is), and lightness (how light or dark the colour is).
  • Luminance/chrominance colour spaces represents colours using a brightness component, and two other values that represent chromatic (colour) component.

See also

If you found this article useful, you might be interested in the book NumPy Recipes or other books by the same author.

Join the PythonInformer Newsletter

Sign up using this form to receive an email when new content is added:

Popular tags

2d arrays abstract data type alignment and angle animation arc array arrays bar chart bar style behavioural pattern bezier curve built-in function callable object chain circle classes clipping close closure cmyk colour combinations comparison operator comprehension context context manager conversion count creational pattern data science data types decorator design pattern device space dictionary drawing duck typing efficiency ellipse else encryption enumerate fill filter font font style for loop formula function function composition function plot functools game development generativepy tutorial generator geometry gif global variable gradient greyscale higher order function hsl html image image processing imagesurface immutable object in operator index inner function input installing iter iterable iterator itertools join l system lambda function latex len lerp line line plot line style linear gradient linspace list list comprehension logical operator lru_cache magic method mandelbrot mandelbrot set map marker style matplotlib monad mutability named parameter numeric python numpy object open operator optimisation optional parameter or pandas partial application path pattern permutations pie chart pil pillow polygon pong positional parameter print product programming paradigms programming techniques pure function python standard library radial gradient range recipes rectangle recursion reduce regular polygon repeat rgb rotation roundrect scaling scatter plot scipy sector segment sequence setup shape singleton slice slicing sound spirograph sprite square str stream string stroke structural pattern subpath symmetric encryption template tex text text metrics tinkerbell fractal transform translation transparency triangle truthy value tuple turtle unpacking user space vectorisation webserver website while loop zip zip_longest